18 May 2014

Dominant Lun Bawang crowned champs of DST Premier League

Sunday, May 18, 2014
LUN Bawang were crowned champions of the DST Premier League last night, ending their campaign with their 100% win record intact after defeating Tunas FC 3-2 last night at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas.
The Temburong District based club were trailing 1-0 in most of the first-half before Mohd Shafiq Abdullah Elan equalised just before the half-time whistle.
Mohd Azril Mohd Ali would put Tunas ahead again in the 79th minute but Zaimi Awat would level the score 2-2 two minutes later.
Christopher Anak Ambon would make sure Lun Bawang finished the league with a maximum of 21 points when he headed home the corner kick from the right.
Speaking to The Brunei Times after the match, Lun Bawang manager Mohd Amirul Afif Abd Rahim Talal was full of praise of his players.
“They were fantastic throughout the tournament,” said Mohd Amirul Afif.
“This is our first time winning the title in a national tournament and what makes me very proud is that we were unbeaten in the league and won all the games,”
“We conceded in most of the matches throughout the league, but we still managed to come back and win… that showed how big the spirit was in the team,”
“We have a balanced squad in all departments and all players contributed in the win, but our senior player Idris Lupat has been a very important figure in the team with his experience and good control of the game,” added the manager.
Mohd Shafiq of Lun Bawang won the top goalscorer award, while teammate Muhd Nursyazwan Halidi bagged the best player of the tournament award.
Lun Bawang will be promoted to the DST Super League next season and will be joined by second-placed IKLS who finished the league with 16 points.
Lun Bawang kicked off their campaign with a 3-1 win over IKLS.
They edged Brunei Shell Recreational (BSRC) FT 3-2 in the second game before defeating Perkasa 2-1.
Lun Bawang continued their great form with a 3-1 win over Setia Perdana before cruising past Kota Rangers 3-0 and followed that up with a 4-3 win over Rimba Star.
Present as the guest of honour to award the prizes was DST Board of Director member Abdul Latiff Pehin Orang Seri Setia Dato Paduka Hj Md Yusof.
The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment