07 December 2017

DST FA Cup draw held, to start January 2018

THE Brunei DST FA Cup 2017 will commence in January 2018, as revealed during the Tournament Draw and Managers’ Meeting for the cup tournament yesterday, at the Multi-Purpose Hall of the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam’s (NFABD) House in Berakas.
The meeting was led by Haji Mohd Noor bin Haji Hamid, Executive Committee of NFABD.
Eight teams from the Premier League including the invited Tabuan Muda U-16 played in the first round. Premier League’s Champion Setia Perdana and four other teams qualifed into the second round and will play teams from the Super League.
In the second round draw, Indera SC will face IKLS FC; Lun Bawang will meet Jerudong FC; Wijaya FC will take on BSRC FT; and Najib i-Team against Kasuka FC.
Premier League’s reigning champion will test their grit against Brunei’s Tabuan U-16. MS PDB will entertain Kota Rangers FC, and Menglait FC will reel against DSP United. Tabuan Muda ‘A’ will be slotted to face FA Cup’s defending champion, MS ABDB. All matches will start in January 2018 with the exact dates to be announced soon.
As an additional local ground rules, five substitutions will be allowed during the knock-out stages of the tournament.
Team managers in a group photo with NFABD’s Executive Committee. – KHAIRIL HASSAN


Brunei fall to Kyrgyzstan 4-0

BRUNEI lost 4-0 to Kyrgyzstan in their second game of the Aceh World Solidarity Cup in Aceh, Indonesia yesterday.
“The team fought hard today with full commitment and strong determination to move the ball forward as we were unable to play possession football due to the heavy rain,” said head coach Stephen Ng.
“We will regroup, recover and prepare to give our best in our last game against Mongolia,” he added.
According to a press release, Brunei end their campaign with the match against Mongolia tomorrow. The team fell 4-0 to hosts Indonesia in their first game of the four-team invitational tournament last Saturday.

02 December 2017

National team leave for Aceh World Solidarity Cup

THE national football team left for Aceh, Indonesia, today to compete in the Aceh World Solidarity Cup.
In the invitational four-team tournament hosted for the first time, Brunei face Indonesia on Saturday, Kyrgyzstan on Monday and Mongolia on Wednesday.
“The team will be using this tournament as a means to expose and assess more players for next year’s ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Suzuki Cup qualifiers against Timor Leste and the Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy (HBT),” said head coach Stephen Ng.
“The tournament also serves as an opportunity for new and younger players to step up their game after playing well in their respective DST (Super League and Premier League) clubs this year as seven players in the squad are Under-20 and will be available for selection for next year’s HBT,” he added.
Present at the Brunei International Airport to wish the team off were National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) Acting Vice President Hj Madli Mohd Yussof and other NFABD officials.

Source: NFABD

19 November 2017

Brunei confirm participation at Tsunami Cup

The National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) will be participating at the Tsunami Cup in Aceh, Indonesia, hosted by the Football Association of Indonesia (PSSI).
The four-team invitational tournament will run from November 29-December 8 and is being held to commemorate the earthquake and tsunami tragedy which hit Aceh on December 26, 2004.
Apart from hosts Indonesia, Kyrgyz Republic and Mongolia will also be competing in the tournament.


10 November 2017

Brunei ends AFC U-19 run on a positive

by Fadhil Yunus    

BRUNEI Darussalam national under-18 team collected their first point at the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Under-19 Championship qualifiers after a 2-2 draw against Timor Leste at the Paju Public Stadium in Paju, South Korea yesterday.
Brunei Darussalam national under-18 coach Takao Fujiwara named one change to the side which lost 1-0 to Malaysia with midfielder Muhammad Hanif Farhan Azman coming in for Muhammad Nazhan bin Zulkifle.
Timor Leste broke the deadlock after Danilson Conceicao Araujo opened the scoring in the 13th minute but Brunei drew level through a fine strike by Hafiz bin Herman in the 34th minute.
The young Wasps went ahead through Muhammad Hanif Aiman Adnan in the 55th minute but Timor Leste found an equaliser after Araujo converted a spot-kick two minutes later for his second of the game.
“It was a difficult game today, but the players have fighting spirit – and they fight for their country,” Takao was quoted as saying according to a press release by NFABD.
“It may only be a point, but it is not something small for us.”
“All the players fought until the end, so I am very proud of all the players and officials,” he added.


Philippines and Brunei, who were already out of contention to reach the knockout stage, entered the match looking to finish the tournament with a win after suffering consecutive losses, and they were evenly matched from the get-go. 
Brunei ended their goal drought with Maziri Maidin scoring their first goal of the tournament in the seventh minute with his shot from the second penalty spot. 
Muhammad Naqib doubled their advantage after the break in the 24th minute, before Faiz Hasnan added a third with a boot in from close range five minutes later. 
Azim Boll Hassan etched his name on the scoresheet courtesy of Raimi's through pass into the box. 
A minute from time, Faiz scored his second to hand Md Yunos' side a happy ending to their AFF Futsal Championship campaign. 
Photo: ASEAN Football Federation


17 October 2017

DPMM run riot against Young Lions

BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN (15 October 2017) – Brunei DPMM ran riot against Garena Young Lions as they secured a 7-1 win in the Great Eastern-Hyundai S.League at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Bandar Seri Begawan last night.
The duo of Rafael Ramazotti and Adi Said claimed a hat-trick each while Daud Gazale netted the other. Substitute Armin Maier scored a consolation for the developmental side.
The hosts dominated the matchup right from the start and should have gone ahead in the 26th minute.
Adi rifled a superb freekick from 25 yards out only for Young Lions goalkeeper Zharfan Rohaizad to tip over.
Ramazotti came close from the ensuing corner but nodded just wide.
DPMM went in front just before the halftime whistle with Ramazotti’s back header off a corner bulging the net.
The Brunei side came out storming in the second half and should have doubled their lead just seconds in but Zharfan denied Ramazotti with an impressive double save.
However, there was nothing the 20-year-old could do in the 50th minute with Ramazotti heading home Adi’s pin point cross from the left.
It was 3-0 three minutes later with Daud Gazale sending Adi through on goal to score.
Ramazotti then completed his hat-trick the next minute with Adi’s ball falling into the middle for him to poke past Zharfan.
Gazale got on the scoresheet in the 64th minute after his shot from outside the box was deflected into goal.
The Young Lions should have pulled one back two minutes later but substitute Zulqarnaen Suzliman’s effort came off the crossbar.
Instead over at the other end, Hendra Azam’s ball sent Adi through again to see him slot it past Zharfan to make it 6-0.
The Young Lions reduced the deficit in the 76th minute with DPMM goalkeeper Awangku Mu’izzuddin called into action to push out Yeo Hai Ngee’s freekick but the second ball fell for Armin to score.
DPMM continued the onslaught and Adi completed the victory four minutes later after nodding home a corner at the near post for his hat-trick. – S.LEAGUE