06 March 2015

Brunei name World Cup Qualifiers players

Friday, March 6, 2015

THE National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) yesterday released the 23-players’ list for the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers.
The press release stated that Hj Mohd Noor Hj Abdul Hamid was appointed as the manager of the team.

Mike Wong Mung Heng will be the head coach of the team and he will be helped by assistant coach Dayem Hj Ali.

Players from DPMM FC and Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) made up the majority of the squad (seven from DPMM and six from MS ABDB), while the rest are from the DST Super League clubs. The list is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Wardun Mohd Yussof (DPMM FC), Mohd Tarmizi Hj Mat Johari (MS ABDB) and Ak Mohd Mu’izzuddin Pg Ismail (Najip FC).

Defenders: Mohd Syarafuddin Hamdi Talip (MS PDB), Abdul Mu’iz Sisa (Indera SC), Mohd Afi Aminuddin (Indera SC), Azwan Muhd Salleh (DPMM FC), Mohammad Mazazizi (MS ABDB), Mohd Hanif Amir (Najip FC), Affendy Hj Akup (MS ABDB), Hazwan Hamzah (Indera SC), Reduan Hj Petara (DPMM FC), Hj Mohammad Yussof Hj Mat Yassin (MS ABDB) and Azri Zahari (Najip FC).

Midfielders: Ak Mohd Fakharrazi Pg Hj Hassan (DPMM FC), Azwan Ali Rahman (DPMM FC), Ak Safri Pg Hj Othman (MS ABDB), Mohammad Nazri Hj Hassan (DSP) and Mohd Mardi Mirza Abdullah Bujang (QAF FC).

Forwards: Shahrazen Said (DPMM FC), Adi Said (DPMM FC), Ak Mohd Anaqi Sufi Pg Omar Baqi (Wijaya FC) and Abdul Azizi Ali Rahman (MS ABDB).

Brunei will face Chinese Taipei on March 12 and 17, with the second leg to be played in Brunei. The Sultanate is ranked 198th in the latest FIFA rankings while Chinese Taipei are 182nd.
Brunei last attempted to qualify for the World Cup during the 2002 edition in South Korea and Japan - where they lost all six of their games against Yemen, the United Arab Emirates and India.
The inclusion of Brunei and Bhutan in this year’s qualifiers makes it the first time that all 209 FIFA members have registered to take part in World Cup qualifiers, a Reuters report stated.
The six winners from the first round fixtures will join the region’s 34 other teams in the second round, where they will be drawn into eight groups of five.
The group winners and four runner-ups will advance to the 12-team third round and also book spots at the 2019 Asian Cup finals in a new qualifying format being used by the AFC.
The 12 World Cup hopefuls will then be drawn into two groups of six, with the top two likely to qualify for Russia and the two third place sides probably playing off with the winner advancing to the intercontinental tie.
The 24 teams who do not reach the third round stage will take part in another tournament to fill the remaining spots at the newly expanded 24-team Asian Cup.
The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment