30 September 2016

MS ABDB crowned DST Super League champions

THE Royal Brunei Armed Sports Council (MS ABDB) were crowned champions of the DST Super League at the Berakas Sports Complex last night.
MS ABDB now equal Indera Sports Club as the most successful team in the history of the DST Super League with two championship titles each.
The army men clinched their first DST Super League title last year while Indera won the title in the 2012/2013 and 2014 season.
The armymen claimed the title on September 4 when their closest challengers Indera were held to a 2-2 draw by Tabuan Under 21, a result that enabled them to create an unassailable lead at the top of the 10-team league table with 23 points.
The league came to close last night with Indera securing second to finish with 20 points after beating Najip I-Team 3-0, who finished fourth with 11 points.
Wijaya FC end the season third with 20 points behind Indera on goal difference while Tabuan Under 21 are fifth with 11 points to their name.
“We feel very honoured to win the title this year and we have waited until today to celebrate," said MS ABDB’s manager Major (A) Razanol Hardi Abdul Razak in an interview with The Brunei Times last night.
“I have to say that the wait makes the achievement feel more special.
“The key to our victory has always been football discipline, especially discipline during training and during matches.
“This victory is for the players, coaches and the management. They deserved it, and if it wasn’t for their dedication and professionalism, this victory would not be possible.
“This season has been great. We have players who got injured but that is normal. For me, the most important thing is to find new talent for the next season to replace retiring players.
“Our future plan will include hunting for new hidden young talent from the (Royal Brunei Armed Forces) RBAF so that we can give them the opportunity to contribute to our organisation and, indirectly, to football in our country,” he added.
MS ABDB finished the league unbeaten with seven wins and two draws, a result which the manager described as humbling.
“It hasn’t been an easy season,” he said.
“This year’s league had its own unique challenges, and it was tough. There were some unforeseen outside influences that affected our training and management this year, but overall we all feel humbled to finish unbeaten this season.
“The best players for us this season would be Abdul Azizi Ali Rahman, our top scorer, and our goalie Mohammad Tarmizi Hj Mat Johari. Both have been impressive at both ends for the club this season,” he added.
Abdul Azizi and Mohammad Tarmizi won the top scorer and best player of the tournament awards for MS ABDB.
Present as the guest of honour to award the prizes to the winners last night was DST Board of Directors member Abdul Latif Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Hj Md Yusuf.
Champions MS ABDB walked away with a cash prize of $14,000, the championship trophy and medals. Second-placed Indera won $10,000, a trophy and medals while third-placed Wijaya brought home $6,000 and medals.
The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment