01 March 2010

Qaf - BPL 1 Champions !

MS ABDB end BPL I champions' unbeaten record

THE Royal Brunei Armed Forces' Sports Council (MS ABDB) handed QAF FC their first defeat in the DST Group Brunei Premier League I (BPL I) at Penanjong Camp in Tutong, thus breaking their 17-game undefeated streak and ending the champions' season on a sour note.

Md Isa Hj Bahar gave MS ABDB the lead in the 29th minute and Rosmin Hj Md Khamis added another five minutes later.

Cameroonian Vivan Francis Bayong was on target for QAF FC to make it 2-1 before the break.

However Bayong's goal was all for nought as Rosmin sealed MS ABDB's win by scoring his second of the night in the 68th minute.

Despite the loss, Md Ali Mustafa, the QAF FC head coach, was not shaken.

"We didn't really come into the match hoping to defend the unbeaten streak. What's important is that even though we lost, we have really learned from the experience that the match provided.

"Half of the team fielded tonight (Sunday night) were reserves, so we were able to examine their performance at this level," said the coach.

MS ABDB would savour the bittersweet win last night, getting their revenge over the three times BPL I champions, to whom they have played second fiddle to for most of the season.

QAF FC, on 47 points, will receive a sum of $10,000 for being the BPL I champions.

Second place MS ABDB, on 45 points, are set to gain $7,000.

Third place falls to AM Gunners FC, ending their season with style by beating AH United 6-0 at the Balapan Track and Field in Berakas last night.

Brunei Times

1 comment:

  1. I'm so happy to see a blog on Brunei football.

    Chamroeun from Cambodia