15 April 2013

DPMM FC to face Lao Police FC

Monday, April 15, 2013
DPMM FC will be up against Laotian champions Lao Police FC in their first game of this year's Singapore Cup.

Lao Police emerged as champions last season's Lao League by beating runners-up Yotha FC by one point, the victory booking them a place in the 2013 edition of the AFC Presidents Cup.

The date of their match has yet to be fixed.

The preliminary round draw for the tournament was held in Singapore yesterday, and Goal.com Singapore reported that teams this year would be drawn on a round-by-round basis, unlike previous editions where teams were drawn with a clear route to the final.

At the end of each round, clubs will be drawn in pairs, which will decide their next opponent.

"This adds suspense and excitement to the whole competition," explained Singapore League CEO Lim Chin.

The prize money for the 2013 Singapore Cup has also seen an increase from last year.

The champions will receive $100,000 while the runners-up and second runners-up will receive $60,000 and $40,000 respectively an increase of $20,000 for each podium-finisher when compared to 2012.

Though DPMM FC have won the Singapore League Cup twice and ended last season with Singapore League runners-up medals, they have failed to progress past the quarter-finals of the Singapore Cup in both previous attempts.

Their debut in 2009 saw them beat Indonesian side Pelita Jaya 1-0 in the first round (round of 16) but were then kicked out of the last-eight after going down 7-3 on aggregate to Thai outfit TTM Samut Sakhon.

Last year's edition saw them fail to pass the first hurdle after bogey-side Home United beat them 1-0 despite playing with 10-men for most of the second half.

The then titleholders, Home got in front after John Wilkinson scored a 40th minute goal, and the hosts would maintain their lead at the Yishun Stadium in Singapore despite having Masrezwan Masturi sent off for elbowing striker Shahrazen Said in the 54th minute.

Warriors FC (formerly known as Singapore Armed Forces FC) are the reigning Singapore Cup titleholders after downing S-League champions Tampines Rovers 2-1 for their fifth triumph in the competition.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment