10 November 2014

DPMM FC trio eye awards

Friday, November 7, 2014

DPMM FC have just completed their best season to date, and there could be more icing on the cake as they have nominees in three categories for Sunday’s 2014 Singapore League (S-League) Awards Night.
Steve Kean has been nominated for the Coach of the Year award while Brazilian striker Rodrigo Tosi (1st photo) – who is set to receive the Golden Boot award – has been nominated for the Player of the Year award.
Rounding off the trio is left winger Azwan Ali Rahman, who has been nominated for the Young Player of the Year award.

[Related story: Kean wants to stay in Brunei]
Kean, who led DPMM FC to the Singapore League Cup, a second place finish in the S-League and third in the Singapore Cup in his debut season, will be up against Alex Weaver from S-League champions Warriors FC and Marko Kraljevic of Balestier Khalsa FC.
It is no surprise that Tosi is up for the Player of the Year award after scoring 24 goals in the S-League. He tallied a total of 34 goals in all tournaments and bagged a brace on Wednesday to give DPMM FC their first win over Tampines Rovers FC in the Singapore Cup third-place playoff at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore.
He will be up against the trio of forwards Fazrul Nawaz (Home United FC), Kazuki Sakamoto (Albirex Niigata (S) FC and Goran Ljubojevic (Balestier) and Singapore national goalkeeper Hassan Sunny (Warriors).
Apart from Azwan, the other nominees in the Young Player of the Year category include Sahil Suhaili of the Young Lions (Singapore national Under-23 football team), Nicolas Velez (Warriors) and Suria Prakash (Warriors).

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment