09 February 2015

DST Super League postponed

Thursday, February 5, 2015

DST Super League fans will just have to wait a little longer for the league to start after the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) announced yesterday that the competition has been pushed back to early April.
The postponement of the Super League might be due to players from the clubs getting call ups for the national squad as the Wasps prepare for the first round of the Preliminary Joint Qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Preliminary Competition and Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Cup 2019 Qualifiers next month.
The DST Super League was initially slated to begin this month after the national football season started on Jan 24 with the 2015 DST Sumbangsih Cup, which Indera SC clinched after a 2-0 victory over the Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas.
Apart from the two-time defending champions Indera and two-time DST FA Cup defending champions MS ABDB, Najip FC, Wijaya FC, Jerudong FC, the Royal Brunei Police Force Sports Council (MS PDB) and Kilanas FC are the returning teams from last season.
Lun Bawang and IKLS are the two teams that were promoted from the DST Premier League while Tebuan Muda (the national Under-23 football team) are set to make their debut in the Super League.
The Tebuan Muda squad is headed by NFABD coach Stephen Ng Heng Seng as they are currently gearing up for the AFC (Asian Football Confederation) Under-23 Championship 2016 Qualifiers in Indonesia from March 23-31.
Indera finished the nine-team Super League with 43 points ahead of MS ABDB with 37 points last season.
The former won 14 games, lost one and drew one. They scored a total of 51 goals and only conceded 14 throughout the campaign.
Meanwhile, the second-tier DST Premier League is scheduled to begin next Saturday.
The tournament will see an increase in participation with a total of 11 competing for top honours, up from eight in the previous year.
BSRC (Brunei Shell Recreation Club) FT, Perkasa FC, Setia Perdana, Kota Ranger, Rimba Star and Tunas FC are the returning teams.
Menglait FC, Kasuka FC, Pancur Murai FC, Besa FC and Tebuan Under-18 are the newcomers for the Premier League.
The fixtures will be released in the near future and can be obtained from www.nfabd.org.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment