14 June 2015

DPMM FC get easy draw

Friday, June 12, 2015

DEFENDING Champions DPMM FC have been handed a favourable draw in the Singapore League Cup yesterday.
DPMM FC, three-time winners and the most successful team in the competition, are placed in Group A together with Hougang United FC, Geylang International FC and Singapore Recreational Club in the tournament, which will run from June 19 – July 12.
On the other hand, Group B is the “Group of Death” consisting of Balestier Khalsa FC, Warriors FC and Tampines Rovers FC.
Albirex Niigata (S) FC, Home United FC and Sporting Westlake FC make up Group C.
DPMM FC manager Ali Hj Momin felt that the draw is good and they will not underestimate any of their opponents.
“It is a good draw for us but the pressure is also on us as the defending champions,” said Ali in an interview with The Brunei Times after the draw at the Singapore Press Holdings Auditorium in Toa Payoh North.
“We are afraid that the players might take it easy because on paper we have a good chance but it is not easy to retain the cup since no team has ever done so.
“We will have to watch out especially for Geylang because they tend to always do well in the tournament,” he added.
“Singapore Recreational Club are a threat to us as well because we are unfamiliar with them,” continued Ali.
DPMM FC are currently third in the Singapore League (S-League) with 19 points from nine games – behind leaders Warriors FC and second-placed Albirex, who have played two and three matches more respectively.
The last game for the Brunei side was a 2-1 loss at the hands of Albirex on May 14 at the Jurong East Stadium.
When asked on how preparations are going, Ali replied: “We have been busy preparing like it is the pre-season. We do lose a bit of momentum after a month-long break.
“All we managed were three friendly matches against local clubs. We couldn’t arrange for foreign clubs as they were busy with their own league as well,” he added.
The top two teams of Group A will progress to the semi-finals of the competition while only the winners of Groups B and C will advance.
The winner of Group A will face off against the winner of Group C while the team top of Group D will contest against runner-up of Group A.
The champion will walk away with $30,000 while runners-up half the amount.
DPMM FC clinched the title last year with a 2-0 victory over Tanjong Pagar United FC at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment