10 December 2022


 Yee Chun Leong


DPMM FC were crowned champions of the Brunei FA Cup 2022 after edging Kasuka FC 2-1 in the final on Sunday.

Kasuka had taken the lead in the 12th minute courtesy of Leon Sullivan Taylor at the Balapan Track & Field in Berakas.

Taylor, who finished as the tournament's topscorer with 25 goals to his name, had beaten his marker before firing it home at the near post.

DPMM FC levelled late into first half added time.

Najib Hj Tarif had his cross cleared only to as far as Azwan Ali Rahman.

He then struck from just inside the box to beat Azman Ilham in between the Kasuka sticks.

DPMM FC took the lead from a freekick in the 72nd minute.

The initial ball was headed towards Shahrazen Said and he turned it towards goal.

Shahrazen, who turns 37 on December 14, celebrated his 19th goal of the campaign with a trademark somersault.

Kasuka had calls for a penalty nine minutes later waved off by the referee much to the dismay of their fans.

DPMM FC could have killed off the game minutes from time.

Hakeme Said, who bagged the best young player award, had put Razimie Ramlli through on goal.

He rounded the keeper before cutting back for Najib, who some how puts it wide from eight yards out.

Kasuka continued to put pressure on the DPMM FC defence but to no avail.

The winners took home a sum of $10,000 while the runners-up walked away with $7,000.

Nur Ikhwan Othman of DPMM FC won the best player award.


No comments:

Post a Comment