06 June 2010

QAF FC are $12,000 richer

THE Football Federation of Brunei Darussalam (FFBD) held a cash handing over ceremony to the winners of the respective leagues in the DST Group Brunei Premier League (BPL) at the Centrepoint Hotel in Gadong yesterday.

In his welcoming speech, Dato Paduka Hj Md Hamid Hj Md Jaafar, the president of FFBD, congratulated the teams for their achievements this season.

"Congratulation to the victorious teams that will be receiving their cash prizes this evening. We have already made plans for the 2010/11 season ... and soon we hope to kick-start the Under-14 and Under-16 National Leagues," said the president.

Dato Paduka Hj Md Hamid then thanked all those who contributed to a successful season, especially the DST Group who contributed a total of B$120,000 for the BPL, DST Group FA Cup and DST Group League Cup.

The president then handed the prizes to the respective winners.

First and foremost was QAF FC, represented by coach Rahim Hj Daud, who received a sum of B$10,000 as the BPL I champions.

One of the most dominant forces in Brunei football, QAF FC clinched the title with a 2-0 victory over AH United on Feb 16 with one match left in the season.

Viban Francis Bayong's brace in the match helped QAF FC capture the BPL I crown for three consecutive years.

QAF FC also received B$2,000 as the runners-up of the FA Cup.

BPL I runners-up and FA Cup champions, the Royal Armed Forces' Sports Council (MS ABDB), received B$7,000 and B$3,000 respectively for their achievements.

MS ABDB beat arch-rivals QAF FC 2-1 at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium on April 17, stopping them from being the first team to capture a quadruple after having secured the Champions Cup, BPL I title and the DST Group League Cup.

AM Gunners FC, who placed third in the BPL I, received B$5,000.

The top three BPL II teams were also awarded their prizes.

Undefeated champions, LLRC FT, were awarded a sum of B$5,000 which should be helpful for their venture into the BPL I next season.

Second place Prisons Department received B$3,000. They will join LLRC FT in the top flight next season, having crushed BPL I bottom dwellers NBT FC 5-1 in the play-off on April 21.

Temburong-based P Lun Bawang got B$2,000 for placing third.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment