19 January 2014

Indera SC, MS ABDB clash for Sumbangsih Cup

Wednesday, January 15, 2014
INDERA Sports Club (SC) will face Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) for the Sumbangsih Cup on Sunday.
The clash, which also serves as the curtain raiser for the 2014 DST Super League, will be held at the Balapan Track and Field of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex in Berakas.
MS ABDB will go all out to win their first silverware this season, in an attempt to make up for last year’s pain of losing the DST Super League title to Indera SC.
The armymen lost 1-0 to Indera SC on the final day of the season in March and both teams finished the league tied on points, but Indera SC's superior goal difference was enough to put them ahead of MS ABDB.
“It is going to be a tough match, as we all know they are the defending champions of the league,” said MS ABDB manager Pg Muhd Mufid Pg Hj Umar Ariffin yesterday.
“To win the game on Sunday is very important to us,” he said.
Indera SC manager Rosdin Hj Abdul Aziz said his squad are ready to face MS ABDB despite them missing a number of players for the match.
“Three to four players are currently with the national under-21 squad, training for the Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy (HBT) and we also lost Azwan Ali Rahman to DPMM FC, so this year Indera SC will be relying on new players,” said Rosdin.
Azwan was the league's top goal scorer last season with 17 goals.
“We are expecting MS ABDB to go all out on Sunday, but we will try our best to match them and get a win on the day,” continued the manager.
“MS ABDB have been preparing since November and they are very serious about winning the title this year, but it will not be easy as we will do whatever we can to defend our title,” he told The Brunei Times yesterday.
This year’s DST Super League will see 10 teams — MS ABDB, Indera SC, Royal Brunei Police Forces Sports Council (MS PDB), QAF FC, Majra United, Kilanas FC, Jerudong FC, Wijaya FC, Najip FC and Liang Lumut Recreational Club (LLRC) FC — fight for top honours this season.
The league will kick off on Tuesday with QAF FC going up against Jerudong at the Balapan Track and Field in Berakas.
Last season saw champions Indera SC brought home the challenge trophy, championship trophy and a cash prize of $10,000.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment