13 February 2015

DST Premier League set to kick off tomorrow

Ak Fauzi Pg Salleh


Friday, February 13, 2015

THE DST Premier League 2015 season will kick off tomorrow night with two matches.

Brunei Shell Recreational Club Football Team (BSRC FT) will go up against Tunas FC at the Tutong Sports Complex while Kota Ranger will face Pancur Murai FC at the Berakas Sports Complex at the same time.

Capping off the week’s action will be Menglait FC and Kasuka FC, who go head-to-head on Sunday at the Tutong Sports Complex.

All three matches are scheduled to start at 8:15pm, and the complete fixtures for the league are available at the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam’s (NFABD) website at www.nfabd.org.

This year sees an increase in participation from eight teams to 11. BSRC FT, Perkasa FC, Setia Perdana, Kota Ranger, Rimba Star and Tunas FC are the returning teams in this season, with Menglait FC, Kasuka FC, Pancur Murai FC, Besa FC and Tebuan Under-18 newcomers.

Lun Bawang were crowned the champions last year ending their campaign with their 100 per cent win record, defeating Tunas FC 3-2 at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Berakas in their final game on May 17.

The Temburong district based club kicked off their campaign with a 3-1 win over IKLS and edged Brunei Shell Recreational (BSRC) FT 3-2 in the second game before defeating Perkasa 2-1.

Lun Bawang continued their great form with a 3-1 win over Setia Perdana before cruising past Kota Rangers 3-0, following that up with a 4-3 win over Rimba Star.

Lun Bawang have now been promoted to the first-tier DST Super League this year, and they will be joined by last year’s DST Premier League runners-up IKLS.

NFABD announced earlier this month that the DST Super League, which was slated to start this month, has now been postponed to early April.

The decision to do so is thought to be the involvement of some of the DST Super League players in international competitions next month - the AFC (Asian Football Confederation) Under-23 Championship 2016 Qualifiers in Indonesia, Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Cup 2019 Qualifiers and the first round of the Preliminary Joint Qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Preliminary Competition.

Defending champions Indera SC, Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB), Najip FC, Wijaya FC, Jerudong FC, the Royal Brunei Police Force Sports Council (MS PDB), Kilanas FC, Lun Bawang, IKLS and Tebuan Muda (the national Under-23 football team) will battle for the top honours in the DST Super League this year.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment