14 December 2012

MS ABDB, MS PDB kick off DST Super League tonight

Friday, December 14, 2012
TONIGHT'S curtain raiser for the long awaited DST Super League at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium promises to be a shootout with Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council (MS ABDB) facing Royal Brunei Police Forces Sports Council (MS PDB) at 8.

MS ABDB manager Azaman Hj Husin is not taking his opponents lightly, especially with his players still tired from their DST FA Cup campaign.

Mohammad Hardi Hj Matassan's 115th minute header handed MS ABDB their third DST FA Cup trophy in four years on Monday night.

"My players are physically tired due to the tight schedule during the DST FA Cup. We were playing in extra time in the final and the players are still recovering. But we still continued our training for this tournament, because MS PDB are not a team that we can take lightly. Some of the players are still recovering from knock and minor injuries but they should be ready and fit for the game tomorrow. It is important to get all three points out of this game as it will help to further boost our confidence throughout the league," Azaman said.

The army men head into the tie as favourites after winning all their matches during the DST National League, in addition to their DST FA Cup triumph.

MS PDB coach Sahrin Hj Mohammad Jaya, however, said that he would be satisfied with a draw. MS PDB qualified into the tournament after finishing the DST National League as the best third-placed team.

"A point should be enough for us. We are playing against MS ABDB, one of the best football clubs in the country. But a win would be a bonus for us," said the coach. "All the players are in good condition. They are fit and ready after a disappointing defeat in DST FA Cup semi-final to Indera SC. We look forward to playing MS ABDB and we will adopt a more aggressive play style this time around."

Other teams participating are QAF FC, Indera Sports Club, Majra United, Liang Lumut Recreation Club Football Team (LLRC FT), Jerudong FC, Najip FC, Kilanas FC and Wijaya FC.

The Brunei Times

No comments:

Post a Comment